TIME TO CELEBRATE 2000 BLIPS - MMXIII to MMXVIII

Here I am again, on Flower Friday, with not a flower in sight - unless you count the ones on my pink glasses, and once again, no housework has been done - but when it’s such a special day, why would I want to spend it cleaning and dusting?  

When I started Blipping back in January 2013, I never dreamed that I would still be here 2,000 Blips later, without missing a single day and I can honestly say that I have enjoyed 99% of those days.  

It has been quite a journey - and there have been many ups and downs along the way, but I have made so many wonderful friends and it has been a real pleasure to meet some of them in person in different parts of the UK and also in other parts of the world.

It is a challenge to find something different to Blip every day, and for me, it’s not just about the photograph, but the journal too - although I know for some, that isn’t the case - however, for me it has been a good discipline to find words and very often a quote to go with the photograph I have taken.  

I have always enjoyed writing and my Blip journal has made me much more creative.  I am still putting together all the poems I have written, some before Blip but most of them to go with a particular Blip photograph I have taken.  They now amount to over a hundred - and I hope to make them into a booklet.  I’m not quite sure how to do it - but I’m working on it - nor what I will do with it after that, but watch this space.  

I must pay tribute to the long-suffering and ever-willing Mr. HCB - he is always ready to be my model, my helper when I can’t choose a photograph, my chauffeur and most of all my best friend - I couldn’t do it without him, so here’s to you, Mr. HCB - as it’s such a special day, I think we should crack open the bottle of bubbly I found at the back of the drinks cupboard - or were you saving that for something else?

Here then is my 2000th Blip - and of course, I couldn’t leave out my pink robe, which has a life of its own on here so I snuggied up in that to take the selfie.  

To everyone who visits my journal regularly and those who just pop in from time to time, a HUGE THANK YOU for your support, comments, stars and hearts.  You are what makes Blip the wonderful place it is and I am grateful to each and every one of you.

“Something that is very special today 
     might not be special tomorrow, 
          but to hold it, to grasp it, 
               to keep it, to make it special,                
                    to elevate it from the ordinary, 
                         that's when you open up the champagne.”
TO MAKE IT SPARKLE!
Christoph Waltz

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.