HALF AN ALPHABET IS BETTER THAN NONE - OR IS IT?

We had a lovely day yesterday - went to Salisbury and bought a new car - as you do - and then carried on down to Southbourne to see our son, who was at their house trying to sort out a few things.  We didn’t leave until just after 8 p.m. and had a good drive back, to find a message on our answerphone from Leightons to say that our new glasses were in but my sunglasses hadn’t yet arrived.  

However, when we got there early this morning, I was told by Kate, the lovely Manager, who had returned from holiday, that they had come in today and just needed checking - but it is cloudy and windy, so guess I won’t be needing them today!  Ah well, they will be ready for the next heatwave and sunny spell, if we get one.

I was intrigued when I looked around the shop/showroom, to see that they had half an alphabet on the display holding the children’s frames.  Personally, I think they are “missing a trick” especially as the name of the company begins with an “L” but what do I know?

I liked the colour of the various spectacle cases so they had to be in my collage - sadly I was given a plain black case but perhaps I should have asked for a bright yellow one so that if I dap my sunglasses down in their case, they will be easily spotted - maybe I will speak to Kate if I need to go back in there and ask her to change it.

The bottom right photograph shows one of the four bags of lettuce we took in for the staff, grown by Mr. HCB and as it says on the pack “Lettuce from the “Silly Iles””.  The young man in the shop said that there was no room in the fridge (it was only a small one) so he had put them “on top of the toaster” - I think he needs a few lessons - he may be good at his job, but toasters and lettuce don’t go together!  However, he did say the toaster wasn’t on!

Another great time at Leightons - one customer asked why we were so happy, because when I tried on my glasses for Kate to check them, instead of reading from the card she gave me, I sang - why else would there be musical notes?  I told him that it was a lovely cool morning and we were alive, so what’s not to be happy about.  He said it was good to see and hear when so many seem to be miserable.

We then went to Jack’s to have a coffee - well, there’s no point in putting a parking ticket for two hours on the car and not using it, is there?  We met several friends then when we got home I took the top right photograph to send to our son in Vietnam, who told me that earlier this morning (midnight our time and 6 a.m. their time) that he was wearing jeans and a hoodie because at 24°C he was cold - we're happy it has gone back to this temperature today and went out in our summer clothes. 

Sunglasses are like Facebook…..
      you can stare at people
          and they have no idea
               you’re doing it!
Anon

P.S.  If you think the outside of my collage is rather garish, blame Leightons - it's their company colour!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.