WIDE ANGLE WEDNESDAY

When I was sitting in the garden the other evening, I noticed that the clematis named Blue Angel, that we had bought earlier in the year, was blooming well and looked particularly good against our blue fence.  I took some photographs then, but in the ethos of Blip, waited until this morning to take a photograph for the Wide Angle Wednesday challenge.  

This is quite appropriate as today would have been my Grandmother’s birthday - so on the 21st June 2017, there are 21 blooms on this Blue Angel clematis and she would have been 121 years old. 

I have been researching my Family History for many years, but cannot find a copy of my Grandmother’s birth certificate.  I think I have found her on the 1901 and 1911 Census, but of course, cannot be absolutely sure that it is the right Mabel Williams, which was her name before her marriage to my grandfather.  I do wish I had asked her questions before she died, but I guess many of us wish the same thing - and often when we are younger, we don’t seem quite as interested in family matters as we are as we get older.  She may very well remain one of the mysteries I cannot solve, but I will keep trying.

"In all of us there is a hunger, 
     marrow deep, to know our heritage - 
          to know who we are 
               and where we came from. 
Without this enriching knowledge, 
     there is a hollow yearning. 
No matter what our attainments in life, 
     there is still a vacuum, 
          an emptiness, 
               and the most disquieting loneliness." 
Alex Haley : Roots
 
P.S.  It seems I got things completely wrong yesterday for Tiny Tuesday - it should have been fauna or bugs - ah well, can’t be right all the time and our asparagus peas might not look as good next week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.