TINY TUESDAY - TETRAGONOLOBUS PURPUREU

I realise that the theme for this week’s Tiny Tuesday challenge is “Jewellery” but sometimes you have to put that to one side and take what is current at the time.  Today is just such a day.  I saw these tiny flowers a couple of days ago, when Mr. HCB’s pointed them out to me, and suggested that they would make a good shot for Tiny Tuesday.  As you all know, he is such an obliging model, so the least I could do was take notice of what he said and after all, these are little jewels in our garden!

Here then, for my Tiny Tuesday entry is the flower of an Asparagus Pea, or Tetragonolobus Purpureu.   Apparently, the tiny pods that are frilly round the edges,  have the flavour and consistency of asparagus when steamed and served with melted butter and a little salt - we have yet to try them and are waiting expectantly for the pods to form. 

Mr. HCB will need to pick the pods when they are only about an inch long as if they are left to grow longer, I understand they can be quite tough when cooked.  I think that a piece of salmon with some small new potatoes, carrots and some buttered asparagus peas will be on the menu very soon.

It’s very warm again today already and I noticed that several of the passion flower buds are on the ground, suffering from lack of water - but never fear, it’s the Glastonbury Festival this coming weekend, so there is bound to be rain at some point!

"I grow plants for many reasons: 
     to please my eye 
          or to please my soul, 
to challenge the elements 
     or to challenge my patience, 
          for novelty or for nostalgia, 
               but mostly for the joy 
                    in seeing them grow."
David Hobson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.