FIFTY SHADES OF GREEN AND PINK

Unfortunately, no housework was done again today - because I decided I needed to go and buy some little match pot paints to repaint some lanterns for the garden.

After I had made my purchase, I thought I would have a walk along by the side of a little brook that runs through the Greenbridge Retail Park in Swindon.  I looked this up when I got home and found out that it is the River Cole, a minor tributary of the River Thames, which flows through Wiltshire and Oxfordshire, where it forms part of the border between the two counties and joins the Thames at Lechlade. 

It was very quiet away from the car park area and you would never believe it was in the town and right in the middle of a retail park.  I was enjoying watching the wild flowers and grasses moving in the wind and then I spied two wrens and a dunnock, all singing beautifully, but I only had my iPhone so couldn’t get any decent photographs of them.  I took several photographs of the river, grasses, wild flowers and the tree, which had obviously hosted a lot of ivy in the past, but I was happy with those.

Whilst I was taking photographs, a lady came along and said she thought it would be much better if they “cleared it all out” - but I told her that it was meant to be like this, somewhat wild and a place for birds and other insects - and I rather liked it.  She just huffed at me and walked on, leaving me to enjoy the peace and tranquillity and take more photographs.  What a lot she missed!

“Look deep into nature,
     and then you will understand
          everything better.”
Albert Einstein

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.