ABSTRACT THURSDAY - PATTERNS

I was quite confident that I would be able to find some sort of patterns for the Abstract Thursday challenge so on my way to the hospital and when I got there this afternoon, I used my KaleidaCam app and took several photographs.  I've put one in as an extra - you would never believe it is Luke, the male nurse standing by a trolley, piled high with towels and sheets etc., but you can see him if you zoom in!  Mr. HCB thought it looked like a stained glass window!  

However, I thought that was cheating a little, so decided to look around the hospital, after I had visited my Mother.  She is still rather weak, but anxious to go home;  however, when speaking to a nurse who was taking her blood pressure and temperature, she was told that she would be moved to the heart ward, but at the moment there were no beds available.  I think it’s fair to say my Mother was not happy!  However, I’m not sure she is well enough yet to go home and cope on her own, even if carers go in daily, so time will tell.

I forgot that the lifts would be full to bursting because there were not only visitors but also people visiting the outpatient clinics, so it was easier to walk down the stairs rather than wait for a lift - in fact, it did me more good to do that!

I saw this painting by Louise Carolyn Bell entitled “Radar II” and thought this fitted the bill rather well for today.  Apparently, this is one of several paintings around our local hospital that are on loan from a charity called Paintings in Hospitals, which was established 60 years ago.  From a sign next to the painting, I found out that this charity “provides works of art on loan to hospitals, hospices and other healthcare facilities throughout the UK to enhance the healing environment for the benefit of patients, staff and visitors.”  

As it's on one of the walls on the way down, I stopped to look at it for some time, but many people passed me on the way up and down without a second glance at it.  Still, it gave me a good Blip for Abstract Thursday and I got some exercise too.  Looking at it again, I realise that the white object is a reflection of one of the lights - but I think it adds something to the painting - but the artist may not agree!

I was over at the Radio Station this morning sorting out the podcasts for our Girls About Town programme, which didn’t take too long - if you are interested in listening, then follow this link and if you scroll down the page, you will see the programmes for last week and this week.  Just click and you can listen.  The songs aren’t played in full on the podcasts, if you were wondering, but this is because if they’re played again then the Radio Station has to pay more in royalties, so they are “concertina-ed”.  Not quite sure I’ve got the hang of doing this yet, because I’m still learning, but I’m sure you understand what I mean.

“There is no abstract art. 
You must always start 
     with something. 
Afterward you can remove 
     all traces of reality.”
Pablo Picasso

P.S.  I may not be commenting much tonight, as I am out for the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.