SILLY SATURDAY

I found an old tee shirt yesterday and then worked hard at making a face mask, having taken a pattern from the one my Blip friend, Veronica, sent to me.  

However, I was still having issues with the bobbin on my not-so-new sewing machine, so when Veronica Whatsapped me early in the evening, she kindly brought Mother Angela to their sewing room to show me how to do it.  Having watched her, I realised I wasn’t taking it far enough across to pick up the thread from the cotton reel.  It was lovely to talk to Mother Angela and Sister Veronica and when I showed them the prototype I had made from their pattern, I think they were quite impressed.  I may even put a label on the mask that says “This Mask has been Approved by Nuns”!

Mine is still not as good as Mother Angela’s but at least I have tried.  I did have to make a couple of adjustments, and by 9.30 p.m. I had just about cracked it.  All I need to sort out now is how to stop my glasses from steaming up when I’m wearing it.  

I did put a photograph of it on my Facebook page and one of my friends quipped that my mask was smiling! :-)  I wonder if wearing a proper face mask changes how we feel or show ourselves to other people because, of course, we all wear masks, whether they are hand-made or not.

I decided that I would show you the famous “Nun Approved” face mask but then JH Ted decided that he too, wanted to be part of today’s Blip, so here we both are, in the garden, in front of the Paul’s Scarlet rose bush, wearing our face masks.  By the time I had finished taking the photographs, my glasses were so steamed up, I couldn’t see where I was going - and that was silly!

I did say to Mr. HCB when I came back indoors that modelling was hard, warm and thirsty work - his response was, “Now you know how I feel!”  

It was quite a sunny morning, but now it has clouded up, but I will still go out for my walk later.  A friend has been round and collected three large bags of lettuce and we have another bag to fill for a friend tomorrow.  The beans that were three quarters of the way up Mr. HCB’s contraption last week are now at the top and curling over and everything in the garden is looking great and we even had the first mange tout peas last night in our stir fry and delicious they were too.  Mr. HCB works so hard in the garden, and as I often tell him, his Dad would be so proud that he is carrying on the family tradition.  Sadly I think it will stop there though, as neither of our sons are keen on gardening.

"People do not change. 
It is just that they change 
     the masks they wear 
          and the acts they put on, 
               with new costumes, 
                    new dialogues and new settings.
That is human nature.” 
Ama H.Vanniarachchy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.