FLOWER FRIDAY - AND A BONUS!

What a wonderful day of rain we had yesterday - I know that some of you weren’t that happy, but I have to tell you that our garden is shouting, “Hooray”  and everything is looking so much fresher and greener.  It rained non-stop for about eighteen hours and for those who garden, it meant that yesterday they didn’t have to water anything - and of course, the bonus was that the water butts are now full to overflowing.

I was busy making cards this morning and I wrote to lots of different people too, which is something I enjoy doing, so hope they will be happy when the postman calls tomorrow.

It was still raining mid-morning, but it gradually eased off, so I went in search of a flower - and not only did I find a beautiful one, and in my favourite colour, but also a very pretty little hoverfly. I have searched and Mr. Google tells me that this particular one is Eupeodes bucculatus or Thistle Field Syrph, but I am willing to be corrected if someone knows better.

Apparently, hoverflies are totally harmless and they are the gardener’s friend as they have a voracious appetite for aphids.   There are over 280 species of overflies in Britain and are often confused with bees and wasps. This one stayed on our Blue Angel Clematis for a long time, so I was able to take my time getting the shot.  Unfortunately, we don’t have as many blooms on this Clematis as last year, because I didn’t prune it at the right time, but there are quite a few now and with the lovely rain we have just had, I’m hoping more flowers will come out.

I don’t know where the time has gone today - I went out for a walk round my field after lunch and then I spent some time making a prototype of a face mask, having been sent one by a lovely Blip friend.  Not sure that mine is up to her standard, but at least I am trying (very trying, says Mr. HCB!) and would like to get the hang of using my not-so-new sewing machine.  Several Blip friends have been encouraging me, so I really must make the effort.

Almost time for our afternoon tea with our neighbours, so will sign off now.  Have a great weekend, keep well and stay safe.  

“Rain is grace; 
     rain is the sky 
          condescending to the earth; 
without rain, 
     there would be no life.”  
John Updike

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.