ABSTRACT THURSDAY - GEOMETRIC

Well, I thought I might as well make it a hat trick - so for three days I have not done any housework!  I keep telling myself there’s always tomorrow but as you know, tomorrow never comes, according to the saying.

I was chatting to Mr. HCB about the theme for today and said that although I was not mathematical, I could quote good old Pythagoras’ theorem and did so, with him chiming in, “In a right angle triangle, the square on the hypotenuse is equal to the sum of the squares on the other two sides.”  

What good knowing that has ever done me, I have yet to learn, but then I read in today’s paper - it being the Summer Solstice - that experts now say Stonehenge was that very theorem, two millennia before the Greek Philosopher was born.

Here is my geometric abstract, a precious gift from my dear friend, Marylou, whom I met here on Blip over five years ago.  She has since stopped Blipping, but I treasure this table runner that adorns my telephone table, so I see it and remember her every day and we are still in touch very often - and although she lives in Pakistan, I am still hoping that we will meet one day!

Although she died in 1976, today would have been my grandmother’s birthday - she was born on 21st June 1896, or at least that’s what I believe;  I am still trying to trace the record of her birth and am finding it very difficult.  I think she may have been adopted, and for that reason, her name may have been changed - and all this happened before laws about adoption came into being.  However, in the last couple of days, I have had an email from someone who is helping a second cousin of mine to research his family history, so perhaps I may learn something more about her soon, although I am not getting too excited about that.

I found this quote, attributed to Pythagoras - I would do well to remember this one.

“Rest satisfied with doing well, 
     and leave others 
          to talk of you 
               as they will.” 
Pythagoras : 582-497 B.C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.