TINY TUESDAY MUSHY BRAIN MOMENT!

Having spent a long time getting this shot, I realise that I have been doing the Wide Angle Wednesday theme today - Links!!  Definitely a “mushy brain” moment - but as I’ve done it, you may as well read what I have written so here is a Tiny Tuesday links shot!

These are the links in a beautiful solid gold necklace I bought about twenty years ago.  At the time, I was working for a Solicitor and one of our clients needed to get some important papers to Companies House for first thing on a Monday morning, as he was selling all his businesses.  The work on these papers couldn’t be completed until the day before, i.e. a Sunday, so we all met in the office and did what needed to be done and everyone was happy.  Over the years I had had many dealings with this man, and always found him to be kind and appreciative of all I did and he often told me that as did my boss!

This was in October and in the middle of December, I was covering on the reception desk when this particular client came in and handed me an envelope addressed to me and marked “Strictly Personal”.  He said that it was for me personally, that he had spoken to my boss and it was perfectly fine.  Because of what he had said, I wondered if it might be a cheque, but never, in a million years, thought it would be for £500!  He wrote on his card that he always knew that if my boss was not in the office and he had an issue, then I would sort it out and he was very grateful for that.  What a kind man - and after all, I was only doing my job!

I didn’t want to just put it in the bank but wanted to buy something that would remind me of him - so I bought this beautiful gold chain - from Iles Jewellers in our town - sadly no relation!

I do enjoy wearing the gold chain and often think of this kind man and his wife and wonder how they are and if they are still alive now.  He was retiring, which was the reason he was selling his businesses and moving, but sadly his wife had Altzheimers disease and was quite poorly so I knew it would not be an easy retirement for either of them - so very sad.

Although Mr. HCB and I are very happily retired, I did love my job and what a difference it makes when you are appreciated for the work you do.

True happiness comes 
     from the joy of deeds well done, 
          the zest of creating things new. 
Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.