Welsh Gladwyn

An EB on a day which did not go to plan.  Thankfully it worked out well in the end.  Jamie, tired after his pain post-riding was unable to spend his day volunteering which in turn meant that I could not go out for a day on the trains with a fellow guard.  However, as the hostel is across the tracks from Wharf station I was able to spend much of the day in the booking office, re-learning a job that I have not don for over twenty years.  Where in the past we sold cardboard Edmondson tickets, all is now computerised with the added minefield that is Gift Aid. Having navigated computerisation in what used to be my day job, I'll soon be proficient given a couple more practice days. 

Iris foetedissima, grown more for it's right orange seeds which display attractively in the autumn, has amongst it's common names, Welsh Gladwyn.  It's one of only two iris species native to the UK, the other being the better known yellow Flag Iris.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.