Marsh Harrier

G, A and I went for a walk at Blakeney this morning, followed by a look around a craft fair where I bought a mosaic wall plaque of a hare, which I'll no doubt blip sometime. 

First we went up to a wonderful viewpoint where you can see for miles, the photos from there didn't work as it's very flat land with no features and no foreground interest. Then we went out on the Blakeney Freshes where we were talking to two National Trust guys about the Marsh Harriers we could see. There were three of them circling low to the ground and it is hoped that they will have young soon. The largest of the harriers, there are only 400 breeding pairs in the UK and they are on the 'Amber' list, but we are lucky to see them quite regularly on the North Norfolk coast. I only had my lens that went to 135 mm today, but hopefully the photo gives you are idea of what it looks like as they fly low across the marshes. We also saw a six spot burnett moth which I dithered about using for my blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.