What a day.

We got up early this morning and made the 2 hour trek back to Abbotsford to clear out the last few things in the home we’ve left behind. The new owners take possession on Tuesday.

As I walked through the house that was ours for 12 years, I felt...nothing. It’s just a house. Empty. A shell of what it once was. Not minimizing the rooms bouncing their memories, I’d already said my good byes during the 4 month process that it took to get to the place I arrived at today.

More importantly, we went to celebrate our granddaughter Maddie’s prom. Two weeks ago we attended the graduation ceremonies and today was the big dress up prom. For the first time in 4 months, I took out my big camera and shot the heck out of it. So fun! Not having my computer hooked up yet, this iPhone pic will have to do to commemorate this occasion. She looked stunning. (Maddie is almost 6 feet and I’m just shy of 5’3” but she’s also wearing heels.)

Our intent, after the celebrations were done, was to spend the night at my parents house so we could run errands and collect things needed for our renovation, but we...well, I was done. All I wanted to do was head back to our new house and so we did.

Sipping wine on the patio, fighting off the mosquitoes, it was ‘home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.