Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Flowers, Flowers, Everywhere!

I had a rare day at home today! I am trying to make full use of my campervan, so I’ve been taking several mini-trips any time I have a few days off in between my working trips to the US. But today was a day in between camping and weekend plans, so I had a day at home to get a few much-needed jobs done.

One job was to plant some flowers in an empty border in front of my house. I’m a bit late, but there were still plenty to choose from at this local nursery (we have THREE garden centres/nurseries on one corner near our village!). This nursery is completely independent and has been owned by the same family for 40 plus years. The big chain garden centres have their benefit, but it’s a nice to go somewhere where it doesn’t feel as if you’re at a shopping mall! And the prices are FAR more reasonable! I later found out from a neighbour that this area - along the A4 - was once dominated by miles of greenhouses and nurseries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.