Good company

Today was the day when I was taking a young man on a nature ramble with his new camera. He is 12 years old and an absolute delight to be out with. He chatters away, isn’t phased by being out with an old crock, and picks out the butterflies and bugs with great enthusiasm. He has a Nikon Coolpix B7000 with an impressive 60 digital zoom lens.

The marbled white butterflies are just emerging, as are the skippers. There are lots of ringlets and little heath’s, but nothing much would stay still and we got quite dizzy turning this way and that to see what would land.

As soon as I got home I had a message from him asking if we could go out tomorrow after school, so I must have done something right, although regrettably I had to decline. We will go out again, I’m sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.