Potteric Carr Morning

It was such a beautiful morning that I decided to accompany Ann on her trip to church on the outskirts of Doncaster.  Another ten/ fifteen minutes from her church is the nature reserve of Potteric Carr,  so I spent a very enjoyable few hours there until it was time to go and pick her up.  I think this is a white-legged damselfly (female) but I’m waiting for someone to confirm (I sent a few of my photos to the Yorkshire wildlife Trust when I got back.). It’s definitely a first for me.  There were a few other firsts for me too and also one or two interesting flowers.  

UPDATE - I got this information back from my contact at the YWT today: Regarding the damselfly you thought might be a White-legged. A friend has come back with...
"it's a teneral (newly hatched) female damselfly, probably one of the blues - its practically impossible to tell them apart at this stage. Its not Emerald as its wings are folded, I doubt a Large Red to be teneral at this date, White-legged has white hairs on the legs and habits slow-moving rivers in the south and south mids so its a blue - but which one?"

I might try and put another composite image together later and add it into the extras.

Insects:  Four-spotted Chaser, Emperor Dragonfly, Blue-tailed Damselfly, Common Blue Damselfly, Canada geese Family



Flowers:  Knapweed, Teasel, Viper’s Bugloss, Common Centaury, + Carder Bee and Red-tailed Bumblebee and Sedge Warbler

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.