Arrival

The ferry was fairly empty but that’s ok we are on board.

135 miles from Dumbarton to Kennacraig via Oban. Then the ferry crossing and a couple of dozen miles on Islay to Port Ellen and the great B&B at 40 Pier Road. Our return visit! A lovely place beside the harbour.

But that road... What a fabulous road it is, from Oban down to Kennacraig! Certainly the best road I think I’ve ridden yet. Impressive climbs and drops, tight turns and glorious curves, good and largely unpotholed tarmac and not too much traffic. We used it to best advantage...

Later. In the local pub in Port Ellen, after the footie was over, Sheol tried to explain the chord of H to a fellow named Geordie. There was singing too. For a given value of sing. But nobody threw bottles, so perhaps we got away with it.

I’m updating my original and brief waffle after getting some sleep. Or shall we call it a returning of consciousness. There may have been whisky involved.

Bruichladdich Octomore 08.2 58.4% As impressive as it was advertised, but not something I would invest in I think.
Ardbeg Grooves 46% Lovely, but again not as lovely as the Uigeadail, which is surely my “go to” whisky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.