Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Fallen petals

Apparently the wind blew hard enough to sometime last night to make this little butterfly weed bloom (asclepias tuberosa) fall onto the moonflower leaf.  I wonder if it said "thanks for catching me!"

A poem I read this morning that is really sticking in my head.

"Accept what comes from silence. 
Make the best you can of it. 
Of the little words that come 
out of the silence, like prayers 
prayed back to the one who prays, 
make a poem that does not disturb 
the silence from which it came."
~Wendell Berry

When I saw this little bloom I thought about the silence of a falling flower.  There could be a poem about this if I could put my feelings in words.  But sometimes silence is the poem.   

Got the bedrooms painted today at Brett's condo with their help and part of the kitchen..a short work day for me tomorrow as I finish it up in the morning as they have the realtor coming at 4pm to get on with the listing.   They will be glad when this place is out of their hands.  I do hope it sells fast for them.  

It was major hot again today but what else is news.   Send any rain you can spare!  

And guess what..the baby deer was in the yard but I could not get a good photo because it was hiding behind the weeds.  Got a shot of its spots and one of its tiny head in the extras.   We have to clean the overgrowth out of the area around the feeder tomorrow and get more corn so they will come back.   I hope this happens tomorrow evening!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.