Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Read All About It

Remember when we got our news from the local newspaper? In the ten years since Cynthia and I moved to Bellingham, the Herald has been on a drastic weight reduction program, with a corresponding shrinkage in staff. The staff now occupies only a small part of this building with its imposing portal, and the paper is no longer printed here.

I still stand at the kitchen counter each morning, drinking my coffee while I read the paper, but it doesn't take very long to get through the smattering of local news and the comic strips. The sports section, which doesn't seem to have shrunk significantly, is of no interest to me. Because of its extensive coverage of local school sports, it's probably the main thing keeping the paper going.

I read the New York Times online, but when we're on vacation, C and I treat ourselves to the printed edition. Sadly, we were unable to find a copy in the depths of rural Virginia during our recent visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.