Reasons for a Trip

Going to Mount Rushmore was one of the reasons we chose this particular trip for our American experience.  I have been fascinated by these sculptures every time I have seen pictures of them and seeing them in their full glory today did not disappoint me.  Washington, Jefferson, Roosevelt and Lincoln are certainly imposing and interesting choices to represent the American Hero and Nation.  
What I did not expect was my reaction to the visit, also today, a few miles down the road, to the developing sculpture of the Crazy Horse Memorial Sculpture and the message "My fellow chiefs and I would like the white man to know that the red man has heroes too..."  This seems to put so much into perspective and to strike a chord with the truth behind what the world should really be about.  Equality.  Opportunity.  Freedom.
In the extras you can see what the monument looks like now and what it should look like sometime in the future...
Another fascinating and thought-provoking day.  We are now into our fourth state having spent time in Utah, Colorado, Wyoming and South Dakota. Lie in tomorrow - up at 6.30am.  Good to be out before the crowds and the heat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.