Ready for take-off

I've been potting and cleaning some of the many plants which make up my garden in the short term. If the truth be known, this is what I like best - propagating and potting! They will get planted out when I have somewhere to put them, but in the meantime I must make sure that they're in good health and properly labelled. 

This is probably my favourite primula, Primula vialii, the so-called 'red hot poker primula'. 'originating from wet meadows, or near water in high valleys of SW Sichuan and northern Yunnan in southern China'. They're wonderful perennials for cool places, but not long lived - two or three years at the most. They should be grown from seed regularly.

I was going to Blip my big plant of Arisaema griffithii, but it was relegated to second place and is my extra today! I remember seeing hundreds of these growing in a Nepalese forest, but on our return journey a week or two later the place was a mess - many of them were dug up and eaten by black bears, we were told!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.