CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Trying to complete my inventory of birds

I've been at home for most of the day and whilst having lunch I was enjoying watching the birds who were eating their own snacks outside the back door, just a few feet away from me. I luckily had my camera close to hand when the pair of bullfinches rather warily approached the feeders.

A small movement lifting my camera to view the birds scared them away to the nearby tree. It took no time at all for the male to return to munch away on the sunflower seeds, but then a young male blackbird's arrival was too much and the pecking order ruled.

I waited patiently and was rewarded when this female bullfinch returned briefly, grabbing a few seeds and then flying back into the tree to complete the chewing of the seed.

This morning I mentioned to Helena that I hadn't seen the nuthatches for some weeks, but it wasn't long before she reported seeing a lone nuthatch clinging to the suet feeder, so that is pleasing. The bullfinches live in the garden all year but I haven't seen them with any young this year. Perhaps they have flown the coop already.


when I went down the garden to refill the main sunflower seed feeder half way down the garden i was delighted to see a blackcap, another bird which hasn't been around for much this spring. The birds seem to be eating as much food from the feeders as they do in mid-winter. I think it is because there are so many new young mouths to feed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.