Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Those Eyes

So excuse me forgetting, but these things I do
You see I've forgotten if they're green or they're blue
Anyway the thing is what I really mean
Yours are the sweetest eyes I've ever seen
---Elton John, Your Song, 1970

Oh, how far I've come since the early days of Blip when I could be sent screaming into the next hemisphere by the mere thought of a spider.  Fast forward to today ... picture it...I'm sprawled out on my back on the deck, camera wedged against our storm door, trying to coax this little Bold Jumping Spider to face my lens by nudging him with a finger.  No one who's known me for years could ever have seen this coming!

Fact of the matter is that I like these little spiders.  I think it's the button eyes - makes 'em look like some sort of weird Muppet or something.  Anyway, I'm pretty sure this one is a male.  He measures a whopping 1/4 of an inch in length (6.34 mm) and he is capable of jumping 30 or so times his body size.  When these little members of the Family Salticidae jump, they trail a safety line behind them --- just in case they miss.  See, cute AND careful.

There is a pair of bluebirds back in our yard, singing and hunting.  I'm going to relocate one of the front yard nest boxes to put it in a better spot for them, hoping they use it.  Fingers crossed.

Thanks again to Jen for hosting TinyTuesday

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.