A Long Wait

In 1996 I went on my first alpine flower holiday, with a group of fellow enthusiasts, to the Pyrenees.  One of the flowers I hoped to see was Eryngium bourgatii but we failed to find it.  I have tried to raise it from seed once or twice since but had not succeeded in flowering it until now.   It's proved worth the wait.  Several two foot high stems bear clusters of these spiny flowers which seem to become bluer each day.  It loves this hot, dry corner and our light, free draining soil.

A busy day again.  We collected Jamie's new orthotics at the hospital this morning before his violin lesson and stopped to shop for shorts and sandals on the way back.  Later all three of us hit Taverham Craft/Garden Centre, each coming home with what we wanted.  In my case this included a bag of cement - what for?  All will be revealed in due course :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.