Wide Wednesday - Wood.

A nice alliteration for today’s WidWed theme, thank you Steveng for hosting. On my way back to the lab after my collections today, I stopped at the side of the road to take this shot. The wood that you see in the middle of the picture and the fields surrounding it (not the sheep field in the foreground, though) were where I spend all the weekends of my childhood. My father was brought up on the farm that you can just make out on the left and when we weren’t gathering, bales, eggs, turnips, or potatoes, all the cousins just used to make our own entertainment. We had a swing tree and a rocket ship tree (healthy imagination required for that one) in the wood and we’d be out at all hours and in all weathers.

The farm is Scotston Rig, near Blyth Bridge, and it certainly holds a lot of memories for me. I would like to think that the wood has a whole new generation of kids in it, but even if they had access to it, they’d probably sit indoors with their computers and tablets.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.