Ashleyn15g

By Ashleyn15g

Happy Birthday to me!

Everyone says they have the best husband in the world, but seriously, they're all wrong. They have to be. Because my husband is the best husband in the whole world! 

Yesterday, on our way home from work I opened a series of envelopes. "Happy Birthday Ashley!" envelope was a pto approved for today for both him and I. "Happy Birthday Ashley!!" had a booked escape room for him and I and his brother and sister on Saturday. "Happy Birthday Ashley!!!" had a reservation to the JW Marriot resort for tonight, and finally " Happy Birthday Ashley!!!!" had a couples massage voucher for the spa at the JW Marriot. 

Oh, how spoiled am I! I woke up this morning feeling refreshed and excited. I did have to run to Lennar and take them Chick-fil-a breakfast, but Juaquin offered to come with me. Really, everyone, there is so nice, it never feels like work. 

We finished with Lennar at about 9, and brainstormed about the day ahead. We decided our next stop should be Go Baby Go to look at babywearing products. We got there about 15 minutes before they opened. We got to look at the different kinds of wraps, and baby carriers. I'm definitely more of a wrap kind of person, but Juaquin liked the carriers. She recommended that we come back closer to the due date to learn how to put them on, so it will be fresher in our minds. 

After that, we headed to the Board Room. It's a hair salon place that I've been wanting Juaquin to go to for a while now. They have a man cave vibe, and really provide a luxurious haircut experience. They did a fantastic job. I asked if he felt pampered, and he laughed and told me he'd never go there again if I ever said that again. 

We still had some time before lunch, so we wandered a little further down the strip and I got a manicure and pedicure. 

By then, it was nearing lunch time, so we headed to Grimaldi's pizza. I had never eaten there before, but I remember several years ago Randy bringing back some pizza from a customer lunch that was amazing. Juaquin and I ordered a 18" calzone. Holy cow! It was huge. They put ricotta cheese in it, and I have to say it was the calzone that I have ever had. 

Fat and happy we waddled back to the truck. Our massage appointment was getting closer. I had only been to the JW Marriot once before, but it was only for a convention and not for an actual stay. We drove along the beautiful landscaped grounds. Somehow, we ended up with the closest parking spot to the spa, in a completely packed parking lot. Maybe God wanted to give me a birthday present too. 

Our monthly massages are one thing, but this was definitely a more luxurious experience! I disappeared into the women's changing area, where I got a push robe, and slippers. There was raspberry tea, and an aromatherapy room. The atmosphere was pure relaxation. With every breath I took, I felt stress melt off of my shoulders. 

They gave me a red string and said to tie it into 7 knots as I walked down the spiral stair case to the common area. For each knot, I was supposed to label it as a stress, worry or fear. Several knots were named Juan, closely followed by the stress of trying to be healthy. Whats going to happen to my accounts once I'm on maternity leave? The remaining knots were about Juaquin, and how much pressure he's under at work. 

At the bottom of the stair case was a large golden bowl, with all the other's stress, worry, and fear. I cast my knotted ribbon onto the top. It was a good feeling, walking away.

Juaquin was waiting for me in the common area. He looked relaxed too. I asked how many of his knots were Juan. He laughed. I later found out that he meant stress knots in his back. The guys didn't have the ribbons. I guess they would think it would be corny. 

The massage was incredible. They had a pillow that allowed me to lay on my stomach. Apparently, Juaquin fell asleep a few moments after it started. I guess he was super relaxed. 

After the massage, we headed to our room to change and go to the water park. I got this organic all natural sunscreen. It made me look super white. We made a beeline to the lazy river. The first time around Juaquin pushed us, but the second time he kicked his legs up over the tube. We laughed and splashed around the circle at least four more times. The sun started setting and it got cool. We pulled up the shallow area to get out. Juaquin couldnt get out. It was hilarious. 

Neither of us were very hungry when we returned to the room, probably thanks to our 18 inch cal-zone. I was in the mood for my birthday cake! I glanced down the menu and chose a moist chocolate cake topped with raspberry sauce and strawberries and ordered a scoop of icecream. Juaquin got some chicken tenders and fries to snack on. 

About 30 minutes went by, and Juaquin got a phone call. They confirmed the order with him, and let him know  they were on the way up. I heard him say, "No, we didn't order the kids sundae with no toppings." It took me a few seconds to realize she was referring to my scoop of ice cream, but Juaquin had already hung up. He felt so bad, but I'm truly grateful that it didn't come. The cake was fantastic without it!

After a few episodes of the Flash, we drifted off to sleep. My last thought was, I wish I could relive this day over again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.