Bass rock

I normally work Wednesday-Friday, but because I was obliged to work on Tuesday this week I arranged to take today off - and what a day it has been!

Mr hazelh and I cycled out to Yellowcraig on the tandem. We stopped on the way at the Open Arms in Dirleton for tea/coffee and scones. This was expensive, but well worth it. The scones were so good that we think that they were cooked to order.

Once settled on the beach, we munched our way through our picnic and settled in for some serious sunbathing. I photographed Bass Rock from the far end of the beach. I think that it looks like an iceberg in this photo. Those white flecks are all gannets - just imagine the noise!

On the way home we called in at the big junk shop in Prestonpans, although it was a bit too late to have a good look around so we will have to make a return trip. We nearly had to get off the bike in Portobello too because the prom (and the beach) were so packed. All Edinburgh is enjoying this amazing summer weather.

Our evening entertainment has been a barbecue in the yard with the England-Belgium match broadcast on my Mac. There has also been Champagne because we are celebrating our wedding anniversary (of yesterday).

Exercise today: 45 mile tandem ride; some walking (9092 steps)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.