First day back on campus

Today I returned to campus for the first time since 28th February. I remarked on everything that I have missed on the walk over the past three months as Mr hazelh accompanied me along the route. I am particularly sorry not to have seen the daffodils and the cherry blossom on the Meadows this year.

I didn't intend to make 28th February my last day in the office before starting my recent medical treatment. It was meant to be 2nd March, but the Beast from the East put paid to that when we were ordered home in the middle of a blizzard on the afternoon of 28th February. This meant that the office to which I returned to today had a sense of being abandoned. The papers on my desk, and the calendar stuck on the month of February, were almost Pompeii-like. (I have to say here that I am grateful that LyndseyJ emptied my teapot in the week beginning 5th March!)

It has been wonderful to see my colleagues again. I have missed them so much! A large group of us had lunch together, and then this afternoon we held our six-monthly all-centre meeting. My blip shows members of my research centre and the equipment for our end of year celebration. This includes (on the right at the front) my big five minute egg timer, which we pass around the table as each person gives an update on his/her research achievements of the past six months.

Our emeritus professor, who chaired the meeting, took the photo. Pictured left to right are Wegene, Bruce, Gemma, Laura, Peter, me, Alicja, Frances, LyndseyJ and Iris. (Colin and Ella are on holiday, our two remote PhD students Najala and Leo couldn't make it, and Lynn had another engagement. John, who has just completed the corrections to his PhD, couldn't get away from work this afternoon.)

Bruce, Laura, Peter, Frances, LyndseyJ, Iris and I continued the celebration of our recent research successes with a couple of drinks together in Montpeliers before heading home.

Exercise today: sit-ups, weights and stretches; walking (around 11,500 steps)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.