Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

It's going to flower

We bought this weird looking plant, along with a couple of others, in early June.  Yesterday, I noticed it had a flower spike developing.  So now I've looked it up, and according to such reliable sources as the RHS, it is meant to grow and flower in the late winter/early spring, and then fall dormant through the summer - ours seems a little confused.

It may also need a cooler period if we want it to grow and flower again next year - though this article about it suggests it will thrive with the neglect we are good at.  And the windowsill in the garden room is probably the best place for it.

It's fascinating what you can find on the internet these days.  I think I shall have to bookmark that blog and revisit it for more of his features - interestingly I see he gave a talk in Hellesdon, Norwich, in 2016.  Though I also note that there are no posts more recent than late 2017.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.