Taco Thurs

I stopped momentarily on Magdalene Bridge to snap 'the Cam at dusk.' Warm and sunny summer days in Cambridge are brilliant and it's no coincidence that this week I've felt in more of a holiday mood, despite being at work.

Hannah took pity on me after seeing me flailing to meet a deadline in the office, and invited me for tacos at hers with her husband Fede. After finishing his PhD Fede had a break back home in Mexico. He returned with a contraption resembling a tea cosy used to keep tacos warm after toasting, and a pot of locusts in chipotle, apparently all the rage in Mexico as a protein source and health food. I tried one and it was less crunchy than I thought.

I contributed fruit and ice cream and they uncovered some redcurrants and blackcurrants picked from their allotment. I remember redcurrants in childhood in bushes my dad tended. Apart from jars of jam and demijohns of homemade wine fermenting in the loft, does anyone know what to do with redcurrants or blackcurrants? They were delicious with ice cream, to be fair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.