Home at last

Today started well.  We set off before 9am and quickly reached the Eurotunnel terminal at Calais.

When I bought the Eurotunnel tickets back in January I seem to have purchased some First Class option called Flexi-plus.   I think it's because we weren't absolutely sure of our travel dates and wanted flexibility.  What I didn't realise was that it also gave us access to a first class lounge with free refreshments, papers etc and also priority boarding which is why the picture shows us driving into a totally empty train which I've never done before.   We were also first off.

However that didn't save us any time as we had the worst M25 experience ever.   The traffic was stationary from the Clacketts lane services to the M40 turn-off.   There was no apparent reason such as roadworks or accident.   A journey that should have taken 3 hours took us 5 hours.

When we got home,  Jane noticed that my front number plate was missing from my car on the drive.   Our neighbour told us that it had been stolen along with hers and used to fill up with petrol without paying.  Apparently it's a common crime according to the police.

The number plate was found in a hedge and has been returned to us and is now restored to its proper place.

Total mileage since we left home 4 weeks ago = 4864

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.