British Camp

This morning I was back up on the Malvern Hills, this time doing a circular walk that included British Camp, also known as Herefordshire Beacon. A natural hill but sculpted out to form a moat and fortress in prehistoric times. It was another hot and sunny day so I was appreciative of the wind and cooler temperatures at the top of the hill!

My walk included a view of the British Camp Reservoir below.

For lunch I stopped at The Kettle Sings - the cafe I’d wanted to go to yesterday but it was closed. It has an incredible view to the west out to the Welsh hills (see extra photo) and the food was delicious. It was just too hot to sit at that table in the sun, however, but they had a lovely shaded area outside with the same view.

After lunch I drove to nearby Upton-on-Severn - a small town that historically was a river port and now is well known for many musical festivals throughout the summer. I mooched around, checking it out for a longer visit another time (when it’s not so darned HOT!!) and enjoyed an ice cream by the river. See extra photo.

The evenings have been very enjoyable at the campsite. The view of the sun setting over the Malvern Hills just tops off the day! And thankfully as soon as the sun sets the temperature has dropped to a pleasant night for sleeping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.