July 1st - A sad day in History...

1863 - The largest battle in the American Civil War at Gettysburg began..

1916 - The Battle of Somme began where British losses in one day were over 19,000 killed and over 57,000 wounded.. In the next 5 months there would be a million casualties over just 6 miles of land...

I wish real history was taught in school... Maybe the next war would not happen... The way the world is going though....

The dahlias are starting to bloom. Flowers should be in vases on the dining table... Not in fields of fallen men (women and children) 

It's been a lovely Sunday.. Sleeping in.. Brought lunch over to my dad.. Today it was sausage, egg on a muffin, apple pie and a strawberry shake.. When your 82, stuck in bed.. eating is one of the few joys left. We talked for 90 minutes trying to solve the world's problems before my dad fell asleep.. I stayed a while longer making sure he was mostly awake before I left so he wouldn't call out for me.. 

Early bedtime before heading to Portland in the morning...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.