Wearing purple...

By 60plus

Every little helps...

...as a certain well know supermarket chain is wont to say...
I must admit I was appalled when these collection boxes appeared in Tesco ( other supermarkets are available ). I couldn't believe that in a rich country such as ours we were letting so many people fall through the safety net - or even removing the safety net altogether...
si_b has set us the challenging themes of "Vices and Virtues" for MonoMonday this month... hmmm, splinters in fingers time again...
I decided to go with "Charity" first as there are some positives in the situation - people volunteer to organize these boxes, and shoppers do pop something in on their way to the exit - they are rarely empty as you pass. Tesco do their civic duty and top up the donations, and every month or so have a bit more of a push to keep the momentum going.
Such a shame though that so many people are relying on these donations to keep them going... how quickly things become normalised...

Meanwhile I'm still moaning about BT ( check your privilege! ) so I'll catch up as and when the bandwith shrinks and grows...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.