Parched

The garden is parched, drier than I have seen it in the 26 years we have been here.  Many plants are wilting but not all.  One of the secrets of happy gardening is to grow plants that suit your climate.  I am often drawn to plants that like moisture and cooler conditions, Primula and Meconopsis for example.  I can sometimes keep them happy but they do not always thrive.   Here in Norfolk, even in a normal summer, the plants that thrive are the drylanders.  Plants from steppe and plains or from the Mediterranean.   

Today’s Blip is of Penstemon azureus, raised from seed collected in California.  It’s natural habitat is extremely dry so it’s not phased by our heatwave.  Amazing how the golden buds morph into electric blue flowers as they open.

A busy day despite the heat.  A couple of necessary outings with Jamie who now sports a smart haircut, several important things organised by phone and email and I still managed some garden time.  I’ve started potting up rooted cuttings and tonight I gave some of the garden a good watering.  Generally I only water the pots and troughs but in extremis I will give parts of the garden a good soak.  I’ll not be repeating it any time soon but without it many plants will be lost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.