CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Honeysuckle flowers but without the fragrance

As it is so hot, I offered to drive Helena to work of the far side of the town centre this morning. Her regular driver was having a bike riding day.

On my return at 8-30am I saw the light was good in the front garden for taking pictures of the profusion of evening primrose flowers which have self seeded on the hard standing. I went in to get my camera before making coffee, which is near sacrilege, although I had made myself an espresso before the drive! Coffee riles my mornings.

Bomble was pleased to see me and thought wrongly that I would be feeding him even more food, but he had to wait. It was delightful being out with a camera early and with a breeze and a clear blue sky but with the light relatively weak. 

I filmed bees on the evening primrose and the rose bay willowherb, and some small insects loving the nectar on the flowers. The teasel is beginning to flower and the spiders are loving them as they have plenty of sharp hooks to attach their webs to. A beautiful and rare, for these parts, mostly orange butterfly fluttered by and teased me by alighting on a green bush. I scrambled towards it and it disappeared just as I arrived  in position.

Bomble pottered about and as a;ways just enjoyed having company outside. He had been awake since dawn and would soon be heading for a day long sleep on a bed. Then I saw the honeysuckle that our neighbour has introduced onto her big hedges. We have a couple of different species in the back garden, but I can't smell any of them. I don't know whether it is my sense of smell going as I get more ancient or that the heat takes the fragrance their away. But as I got up close there was a lot to appreciate in the many details and colours of their flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.