nonpcplod

By nonpcplod

Harvest time... (already)

Today being Wednesday we were back to Fulbourn for Margret to go to her volunteer job at the 'drop in' for the hospital. It's been very hot and seems quite humid too... While I waited for Margaret, quite by chance I came across this scene.

The combine harvester is a CLAAS Lexion 670 and the tractor a Massey Ferguson 7499, they were making pretty quick work of the field of barley.

While I was there I got talking to the farmer, he told me that although the yield was quite good the quality was not so good due to the hot weather. He also told me that they had had some small fires due to the cutting bar of the combine hitting flints and striking sparks. The dust this year seems to be particularly thick.

The second extra is a Hornet Hoverfly that I snapped on our Buddleia while trying for butterflies... It was BIG! (Volucella zonaria)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.