Tiny jewels

This time of year I catch loads of micro moths in my trap, and some of the time at least I ignore them as id is very tricky. 
Not only is id tricky, but photography is almost impossible too as unlike their larger cousins  cooling them down in the fridge seems to have limited effect and they wake up and start flying everywhere almost as soon as you get them out, before you can even pick up the camera!
But yesterday when I noticed this little beauty I just knew I would have to try harder!
This tiny moth Chrysoclista linneella, with a wingspan of just 12mm  is just so beautiful, and so deserving of being photographed I just had to persist until I got a few decent shots.
It has a South eastern distribution and is listed as local. The larvae feed under the bark of lime trees, and it flies from May to September.
I think I may well be blipping more mico moths in future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.