Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The shape of things to come

I went to the Property Council's lunch today.  The Guest speaker was a property developer from the DOMA group.  He spoke of the developments his company was involved in in the Newcastle region with artists impressions of the proposed developments.  He was very impressive.  Two of the developments are directly across the road from where I work and I have been watching the earth moving equipment extend the harbour foreshore by throwing rocks into the harbour for weeks.  This has been going on really for over a month.  It must be quite something if the drivers are ever asked what they do all day..."I chuck rocks into the harbour"   Of course the rocks are boulder size and the chucking is done by huge plant.  The building shakes all day and the noise outside when the trucks dump the rocks is horrendous but it is all in the aid of progress isn't it.

The city is going to quite different in two years time and I mean to try and get as many shots as I can of the before to compare with the after.  This is not the best to show the detail taken at night from the Obelisk on the hill but where those two cranes are and looking right from there is going to be considerably different, mark my words.

The extra is a shot of my phone app.  I might add that there are 5 weeks to go for people to get the million steps and I am also well down on the leaderboard.  The leader has done over 4 million and many people would easily do more than 20,000 steps a day.  Still, with the phone not properly recording my steps I am reasonably happy with the result.

Apologies for lack of comments but life has got away from me at the moment.  I hope to resume a more normal service soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.