Trevornick Well - Lakeland Dipper 66

Or, St.Cubert’s well
When visited the remarkable well in the cave last year I hadn’t realised that there was the uncertainty about the two wells of Holywell https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2330795899170589201

Today I went in search of this one. I have discussed the ignominy that wells have to deal with in this modern age before. This one (along with a few here in Cornwall) has to cope with being in the middle of a golf course.

In spite of this, no-one I asked seemed to know about it. Eventually I asked three chaps eyeing up the 17th hole, I’m not proud, and boldly asked if they knew where the holy well was. They looked at me as though perhaps I had heat stroke and then one of them said there’s something down there, indicating steep steps off the 17th. Then he said, is that what you do the, go around finding wells? Sometimes,I said, rather cagily, realising it has the odd of oddyssey about it and awaiting ridicule. He laughed. Thankfully though his good natured laugh was followed by, ‘well we wander around in the heat knocking little white balls in holes’. Couldn’t have put it better myself.

Anyway, I descended the steps into another world. This place had a ‘feel’. Otherworldly. What a joy. The water was very pure, the well house was a liverwort heaven all of its own and the place was alive with dragon and damselflies. Lots of bubbling up from the mysterious below. It is believed that this predates Christianity and then became Christianised. St Cubert popped over from Wales to sort the heathens out and then went back to his monastery.

With golf balls flying around it was all rather surreal. I scurried off avoiding golf balls and adders and crossed the dunes flushed with wildflowers from the outflow, including pyramidal orchids, and headed down to the beach to visit the other well in the cave again and then have a swim.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.