Butterflies and brambles

I made an early start so that I could visit Morkery Wood in the hope of photographing Purple Emperors, before going on to meet another botanist in Bourne Wood to hunt for brambles. Unfortunately I was a bit too early - the ride that they favour was in shade, and they were all staying up high. I still enjoyed watching several of them glide around the canopy, accompanied by fluttering Purple Hairstreaks and plenty of male Silver-washed Fritillaries, who were chasing all other butterflies away. By the time I had to leave the sun had reached some of the brambles, and several Silver-washed Fritillaries came down to sip nectar, making obliging photo subjects. Ironically the best view I had of a Purple Emperor was in the car-park, about a couple of metres above my car! (see extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.