So Little, So Disapproving

Pennsylvania is turning into the great American rainforest. It rains pretty much every day now, and everything is green, green, green. I pity the people who are trying to go camping; it's been a washout. The outdoor things we want to do, we try to fit in between the daily rains.

I decided I wanted to spend the morning reading a book in our quiet backyard, and so that is just what I did. Shortly, I was joined by a little friend: the smaller of the rabbits living in the yard.

I sat still, not moving, except to snap a picture now and then (yes, the camera always comes along out with me). I got a great number of very close, clear shots of the bun - finally! The bun still has the white spot on its forehead that very young Eastern cottontails have.

And as I was taking this photo, I noticed the rabbit purse its lips (if rabbits even HAVE lips) and turn its ears back a bit, and make what I discerned to be a somewhat disapproving look. But for what reason? I'd soon find out.

I heard a sound, caught a glimpse of something; and looked up to discover the mama doe and her two fawns had arrived at the back of the yard! Then the rabbit disappeared under the bushes; but later, my husband went out and caught the bunny binkying! (The bounces, jumps, and spins of a happy rabbit.)

I look at this photo and sigh to myself: so little, yet SO much disapproval! :-) I can't think of any songs about disapproval. So let's let the song have the word little in it. Here's a favorite. From Pat Benatar's awesome 1982 album Get Nervous, here is Little Too Late.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.