Saltandvinegar

By Saltandvinegar

Hi De Hi !!!

This is an original chalet at Brighstone Holiday Camp, Isle Of Wight, revisited.

It was actually opened in the 30's and is the only one still in operation in the British Isles and sadly, as far as I can understand, it has just been sold to a foreign company (I think American or Canadian, I may be wrong on the country) who are wanting to demolish these wonderful looking chalets and put in a static mobile home and touring park.

This place means a lot to me, especially to see this original chalet, because way back in the early 60's aged about16, my parents actually allowed me to go there with the then boyfriend and his mate and girlfriend. Girls in one chalet and boys in the other !!! Obvs !!! We had a great time, travelling there in my boyfriend's Ford Prefect/Anglia (not sure). The clubhouse was great, I can remember their sausage rolls to this day, and in the evening we danced as they played wonderful 60's pop tunes like 'My Guy'.

My first taste of freedom and Babycham . . . woohoo!

I have put in extras, some photos of how the chalets look now. Still wonderfully iconic, I might add.

Good night Campers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.