Saltandvinegar

By Saltandvinegar

Wiston Steam Rally

Before I start and although the football histeria leaves me cold, I must say :

2 : 0 WELL DONE ENGLAND, keep it up.

Today we went to The Steam Fair at Wiston. Wiston House is a magnificent building, in its own estate in West Sussex, and I'm ashamed to say although I don't live many miles from it, I don't know much about its history.

We knew it was going to be HOT !!! So we went early and saw a lot of the exhibits. As the day got hotter we started to flag and found a bench seat with unmbrella and sat in the shade for a while, people watching. Eventually giving up our seat to a couple of old boys with a darling Bedlington Terrier.

We watched the steam rollers and traction engines, then the miniature versions of all the steam engines in the arena, which were, in my eyes, even more amazing than the big ones, (some were at a quarter or a third and some were even at a half size build) because of the intricacies involved in each moving part. Apparently they have proved themselves to be able to pull the much larger heavier vehicles.

Harris's steam fairground exhibits were there but I have a feeling it is only the carousel that is steam driven any more. Nevertheless people were loving riding them. The open top charabanc in my picture was one of my favourites and as I have blipped Steam Engines before, I thought I would blip my favourite exhibit this time, although I did have many, this was the one I chose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.