Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Smiling

When you're smilin', when you're smilin'
The whole world smiles with you
When you're laughin', oh when you're laughin'
The sun comes shinin' through - Dean Martin, 1952

I'm smiling today because of the many lovely comments and love on my 7-year blip yesterday.  Thank you ALL.  You put my odd looking little insect high up on page 1 where his indiscretion is available for all to see.  An interesting side note, today I found two of them in the same patch of phlox.  Very cute and they can't possibly eat much, so they are welcome to stay as long as they want.  I'd actually like to see them progress to their adult form.

I'm also smiling because, while I was in the hide this morning, I finally got a good look at the first baby tufted titmouse of the year.  Isn't he adorable with his little smiley-mouth?  He was begging while one of the titmouse parents was busily shucking sunflower seeds.  Most years, there is an armada of young titmice so it is somewhat surprising to have just seen this one youngster.  Maybe the rest haven't fledged or maybe there was some sort of nest failure.  

Also smiling because, finally, more hummingbirds are starting to show up.  I counted a half dozen this morning - not a high number, but better than what I was seeing a few days ago.  One female appears to have staked out one particular feeder - she sits in the cherry tree and rains down terror on any other hummer that tries to grab a drink.  Of course, while she's chasing one interloper, invariably a second shows up to steal some nectar.  Summer hummer wars.

The humidity is finally starting to drop, thank goodness.  In fact, I may try to get out for a brief hike tomorrow.

Thank you again for all the lovely comments.  You made my day.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.