Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Five minutes...

behind drawn curtain
actors like to peek to gauge
their future success

We all do it, we who get onstage, don't we? We like to know if the room is half full or half empty. Of course the noise of conversations gives us an idea, but we have to see it with our own eyes, don't we? Every stage curtain in the world has a hole or a gash in it for actors to peer through without being seen.

Well, Jackie did. I did, too, although there was no one tonight I was expecting to see - Julie will be in the audience tomorrow.

We had so much fun! Which is the main reason why we do all this in the first place, and go through the slight anxiety before the curtain is drawn. I don't have stage fright to speak of, but I do get a funny feeling in the belly just minutes before the start. Maybe I had a little bit less of that tonight because I really felt I was ready, more ready than I had ever felt before when I'd got onstage.

Probably this is because I didn't have many lines, but I am still amazed that we were able to put on a show that lasted an hour and a half in just under four months. Well, under four months for me anyway, as I joined the troupe at the end of March!

I need a good night's sleep, but I can't wait for tomorrow, when we do it all again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.