WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Piano à volonté

Spoilt for choice today. I spent most of the day trying every possible way of taking photos of people playing the piano. It's only when you start doing this that you realise how nigh on impossible it is to get face and hands in the same shot.

The day started with a Debussy master class; the sole student who turned up was very good indeed. I nipped home for lunch and then the afternoon was taken up with young piano students ranging in age from seven or so (feet barely touching the pedals) to twenty something. It is rather remarkable seeing these youngsters confidently tackling Schubert and Chopin. I took photos of everyone on the assumption that they would like some. Coming back from this I heard a loud cheer from the cafe on the promenade and correctly surmised that France had scored.

The day finished with a late-evening Debussy concert on two pianos. Haven't got round to even looking at those photos yet, but there's an album of what I've processed so far, if you want to see how many different ways you can photograph people playing the piano. Once again I am very happy with my expensive lens!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.