WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

From a distance

Something I'd been looking forward to for weeks was being the official photographer for the week-long piano festival in Lagrasse. I had such a whale of a time last year, the highlight of the summer. So it was hard to accept that it was a non-starter this time. I even very briefly entertained the idea of doing it anyway, before realising how hopeless it was. The square in Lagrasse is entirely covered in uneven cobbles, a menace to anyone on crutches. And even if it wasn't it's just not practical trying to move around and take photos. So sadly, I told the organisers I couldn't make it.

S took me to the opening event this afternoon though, driving me into the square as close as he could to the seating under the market hall. Just as well the seats were in the shade (extra), as it was 36C without a breath of wind. I propped up my foot and optimistically got my camera out. I couldn't move to a better position, and soon, despite there being loads of empty seats, a woman came and plonked herself directly in my sightline a couple of rows in front. So I did what I could (not much). The long lens on the Olympus helped me.

It was piano à volonté, three young pianists playing a couple of pieces each, so it didn't last too long. Afterwards S went and fetched us both ice creams and we ate them before heading back home to shelter from the baking sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.