Shoe Cupboard

Backblip (Written on July 7th just after England beat Sweden in the World Cup Quarter Final, whoop whoop!!!! It's Coming Home!!!)

Today was a stressful day.  
Mr K and I generally text each other back and forth all day so I have a pretty good record of the day's events. That's how I manage to write Blips days and weeks after the event! If there are no texts we were either together or I'm busy doing something memorable enough to remember!!
Once I have a prompt I can replay the day in my mind. Which has the dual advantage of allowing me to Blip and staving off Alzheimers!
Here is a conversation Mr K and I had at 11.27am:

Mr K: Hola!  How’re things there?

Me: I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed and hysterical.
So much to do and no time
And I’m too paralysed by it all to do anything

Mr K: when you get some time, sit down and make a list - not exhaustive, just the first things that occur and send it to me; continue with the list and we’ll try to sort it out bit by bit!

Me: It’s mostly tidying and cleaning. 
The house is a tip
And packing
And lists for parents
presents and cards for the two parties
Miss L’s passport
and laundry
the garden
food shopping
Cleaning the carpets
eBay parcel crap
The Sun room
the garage
mowing the lawn

I don't deal very well with stress and get paralysed when I feel overwhelmed by having too much to do. This was four days before Mr K and I were off on our week long cruise. And as my train of thought whingy list of messages shows, we had quite a lot to do. I had reached the point of not even wanting to go because it was so stressful. I know, poor me, too much to do before I can go on a luxury cruise!!!
Mr K can generally calm me down and make me feel better. 
Lots of people would just say get off the internet, get off the sofa and just tidy up/pack/go food shopping/do some laundry. Pull yourself together!!!
But not Mr K. I'm very lucky!!
At 12.15 I sent Mr K this picture of our newly pristine understairs cupboard. We'd been pretty much unable to get into it for weeks with all the boxes and bags and crap shoved in there.
Obviously it wasn't on my list of urgent things to do but it made me feel sooooooooo much better!!
And Mr K went to John Lewis at lunchtime and bought a VAX carpet cleaner so he could clean all the carpets before we go!!
The Little Misses has a nice day with Miss M. After a late night they mostly watched films. I sat with them for a bit and watched Aladdin for the first time ever. It's good!!
I took Miss M home at about 2pm despite Miss E"s protests. Sleepovers can't go on forever I told her.
Went down like a lead balloon!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.