Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

New Dojo

Mrs tsuken has been in love with the gym for years. There's one that opened not too far but not that close to us; just slightly too far for her to switch from her current gym - as much as she's been ogling and lusting after it. ;) Recently I learnt about a scheme called Fitness Passport, which Nepean Blue Mountains Health makes available to employees (it's not a NBM scheme, but they've signed up to it). Basically, for a very small amount, I could get membership to literally hundreds of gyms across the State. For a little bit more, the whole family does. Doing that worked out to about the same or slightly less than mrs tsuken had been paying for just her own membership to only the gym and fitness classes at the local aquatic centre; now the whole family also has access to the pool there (as well as all the other gyms).

One of those other gyms is the object of mrs tsuken's long-frustrated lust.

Said lusty gym also has a larrrrge group fitness room. We popped in yesterday, and I asked whether the room is accessible outside classes. "Of course", the very friendly and helpful lady at the desk said. Ok, so what about outside staffed hours? I asked (It's a 24-hour gym): "no problem", she said; "we trust our members" (a welcome change from the aquatic centre mrs tsuken does her classes at, where they won't even let anyone in the room without a staff member - and are even talking about locking it.

So today we returned, did some weights together, then I hied me into my new dojo. ;) Isn't it fabulous??!!?!!!!!

I did some of my best kata in a while (ever???) Partly that felt like it could be due to the legs workout before (though doing legs and then kata Sochin seemed a particularly brave idea - taking the English sense of that phrase: that it meant I was a total plank xP ); but I think a lot had to do with not running out of space, shortening stances to avoid running into the fence, consciously thinking about space and fences and not kicking the rose bushes, and so forth.

It. Was. Great.

I'll be back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.